DUI / Risk Reduction Course
According to the Georgia Department of Driving services, DUI Risk Reduction course is an intervention program required by law for people convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), possession of illegal drugs, underage possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, or Boating Under the Influence (BUI). The DUI / Risk Reduction Program consists of two parts that must be successfully completed in order to obtain a certificate of completion.
DUI NEEDS Assessment
What is a NEEDS Assessment?
The Assessment Component is completed first. It is a 130-question comprehensive screening instrument used to evaluate the extent of an individual’s alcohol and drug use and its impact on driving.
If you have been charged with any of the following, Georgia State law may require you to attend a DUI school / Risk Reduction Program certified/licensed by the Georgia Department of Driver's Services (DDS) before your driver's license can be reinstated.
Other drug offenses
Underage possession of drugs or alcohol
Call to schedule your assessment first before enrolling in the 20-hour course.
Assessments are conducted
Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
20 Hour DUI Class
What does the 20 hour DUI class consist of?
The Intervention Component is administered after completion of the Assessment Component. It is a 20-hour course comprised of several sessions covering several days and delivered in a group environment. The Intervention Component is designed to offer therapeutic education and peer group counseling about alcohol and drug use and its effect on driving.
Once you have completed the Assessment, you must attend the 20-hour in classroom course called the DUI class or Risk Reduction Program. Allegiance provides this course every week with the following schedule
You must complete the course in the exact order as listed above.
As per Georgia DDS Guidelines the total for the complete DUI course also known as DUI Risk Reduction Course is $360.00:
($100.00 Assessment fee + $235.00 class fee + $25.00 book fee).
Frequently asked questions
Why has my 20 hr DUI class been rescheduled due to lack of participation?
As per the DDS guidleines there must be a minimum number of 5 participants registered for the 20 hr DUI class before it can commence. We will only contact you and or may pre-register you for a class in order to meet the state minimum. However, there are situations where a participant is unable to attend and if we have not met the state minimum the class will be rescheduled.
I paid for my 20 hr DUI class but the class has been rescheduled?
Yes, if we have not met the state minimum participation level or must reschedule a class due to weather or other unforeseen situations - the money for which you paid for the 20 hr course will be transferred to the next available class. You will not loose your money.
My 20 hr DUI class has been rescheduled but I must take the class before the new date and time.
If you run into a situation where the 20 hr DUI class has been rescheduled to a time which is not convenient for you, you have two options.
Can I bypass the assessment and just take the 20 hr DUI course?
Unfortunately no, the DUI risk reduction program is a two step process with step 1 being a requirement before you can proceed to step 2. For more information on the state requirements for DUI Risk Reduction programs visit http://www.dds.georgia.gov .